Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Cacik has a million different uses. A gorgeous Cucumber Yogurt sauce, flavored with dill or mint, it can be used for a dip for pita, kebabs, fresh vegetables. It can be used as a fresh salad dressing or even eaten alone.

Cucumber Yogurt Sauce

Cucumber Yogurt Sauce

This sauce goes by different names in various areas, Cacik and Tzatziki are just two. Flavor yours with mint or dill, drizzle with a little olive oil, or not. On this site, I’ve served it with my Yogurt Marinated Shish Kebabs and also with Falafel.

Cacik, serves 4, cost 47 cents.

  • 1 cucumber, peeled and grated or finely chopped
  • 4 ounces Greek yogurt
  • 1 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 teaspoon fresh mint
  • salt
  • olive oil (optional)

In a mixing bowl, combine cucumbers and garlic. (Don’t add any cucumber juices to the bowl.)  Add salt to taste.

Mix in yogurt – best when refrigerated for an hour.

Transfer to serving bowl. Garnish with mint and drizzle olive oil on top. Serve immediately or cover and refrigerate.

If you don’t have Greek yogurt, strain your plain yogurt in a cloth or paper towel lined strainer eight hours or overnight.

Let’s talk about how to save money/time on this recipe:

  • Use a coupon matching site! One of my favorites in my area is Pocket Your Dollars, but every store has a group of enthusiastic Coupon Matchers. Do not discount the savings! I check their site every week, even if I don’t “need” to go to the store and often find bargains I can’t pass up.
  • Follow my Strategies – You’ll see them all explained on the upper left tab of every page and how I apply them, below.
  • Don’t get discouraged if your prices don’t match mine! Keep shopping at the best prices and your fridge/freezer and pantry will be stocked with sales priced ingredients.
  • Read below for additional tips as well as throughout the recipe, for saving time and managing food.

Strategies Applied on the main dish:

  • Cucumber:  Look for the best sale, by the item or by the pound.  If buying by the item, look for the largest ones.  I’ve started throwing my (very clean) cucumber peels in a large glass of water and lettting it soak overnight – refreshing on a hot summer day.  Cost for my cucumber - 25 cents.
  • Yogurt:  I’m particular, but I do buy the Greek yogurt by Dannon, with coupons.  (If I don’t have coupons, I’ll buy a large container of the healthiest looking plain yogurt I can find – I use it in cooking and or eating.  If I want it flavored, I’ll add a teaspoon of jam or some fresh fruit.)  I often find it for no cost on the days my store doubles their coupons – cost for this recipe:  20 cents.
  • Garlic:  Runs around 59 to 99 cents a head in my area in the boxes.  It can be a little tricky to discern the best prices because it can also be bought by the pound, and generally you’ll pay less this way.  Cost 2 cents

Nutrition: 

serving size 1 1/2 tablespoons.  Cal:  25.07 cal fr fat 4.72; tot fat .54g; sat fat .31g; chol 1.82g; sod 22.34g; tot carb 3.24g; fib .29g; sug 2.7g; prot 1.88g

Put your Own Spin on It:

  • Add dill, parsley, lemon or a dash or red wine vinegar.

Cacik, Cucumber Yogurt sauce, made May 2012

