Tags

, ,

Even on Sale for 75 cents each, an equivalent serving of Banquet costs 2x as much as an equivalent Home Made Chicken Pot Pie – the box makes no claim of “tasty” and I can see why!

I haven’t written a “rant” for a while, but I started getting worked up last night when I read a recipe for a budget “Easy Chicken Pot Pie” – $11.57 for six servings at a ‘frugal’ site. I don’t think I could spend that much money making a Chicken Pot Pie if I tried to!

This not only prompted me to post “my” Chicken Pot like you WISH your Grandma Made, six good sized servings of amazement for $4.05, but to also think back to the chicken pot pies of my youth. Yep, Banquet Chicken Pot pies.

When the parents went out and we had a sitter, we LOVED them – maybe it was the novelty. They were on sale at Rainbow today, 4 for $3.00, or 75 cents each. I ran out to pick one up tonight, a Tuesday, and snagged the last one from the sale that started Sunday. Must be a great deal.

Some may find this amusing – I had to scan three aisles of frozen food to find one – I’ve never bought a frozen dinner and didn’t know exactly where they were. Also of interest, they’re no longer in foil containers…the future has moved on and left me behind. The last thing I noticed was this product makes no claims on its package!  There is not a single claim of “tasty,” “tastes like homemade.” Hmm.

I’m also feeling a little bit guilty because I already told my son he could have it – poor dear, he’s so excited, and after being so strict with rules about food when he was young, now I’m serving him “test” food! The label is pretty scary.

Pricing and Nutritional Values:

First of all, it’s a little hard to figure out EXACTLY what’s in the Banquet, so I did my best by picking it apart and estimating. (See Ingredients, below.) Per Serving, my Chicken Pot Pie has 2 1/2 times the meat of the Banquet, four times the vegetable, and is twice the serving size of the Banquet. An equivalent amount of Banquet is $9.00 and mine comes in at $4.05.

This also doubles all those calories, fat, cholesterol and sodium figures! Here’s the Banquet compared to “Chicken Pot Pie like you WISH your Grandma made.” The Banquet is doubled.

  • Banquet:   ($1.50):  820 Cal; 44g Fat (34% cal fr fat)  18g Prot,  86g Carb, 4g; Fiber, 50 mg Cholesterol; 1580 mg Sodium.  No exchanges given. (Contains both trans fat and msg)
  • Mine:  ($.52):   361 Cal;  17g Fat (42.9% cal fr fat); 26g Prot; 25g Carb; 3g Fiber; 68 mg Cholesterol; 508mg Sodium.  Exchanges: 1 Grain(Starch); 3 Lean Meat; 1 Vegetable; 3 Fat

Taste: 

  • I had a bite, and I’d have to be really hungry to eat one.  Even my son didn’t like it, and he’ll eat ANYTHING that doesn’t move…and maybe even some things that do.

Ingredients:

  • Chicken Broth:  (Water, chicken flavor chicken stock, salt, hydrolyzed soy protein, flavor, autolyzed yeast extract, chicken fat, cooked chicken powder, whey protein concentrate, citric acid)  My note:  This contains Trans fat and MSG, carefully hidden.
  • Cooked Chicken:  Chicken, water, salt, sodium tripolyphosphate
  • Carrots
  • Mechanically separated chicken:  sodium tripolyphosphate, natural flavor, citric acid
  • Potatoes:  Potatoes, calcium chloride
  • Contains less than 2% of:  Modified corn starch, peas, chicken fat, wheat flour, salt, soybean oil, natural flavor, sodium stearoyl, lactylate, sugar, paprika, corn oil, beta carotene.
  • Crust:  Wheat flour, lard, preserved with BHT, water, dextrose, salt, caramel color.

Just a note, but there were about seven peas, 9 or so teensy bits of carrot and fewer teensy tiny chunks of potato in this pie, I’d estimate a bit more than a tablespoon total of vegetables.  I’d say about the same amount of chicken.

If you’re interested in how chicken is mechanically separated, here’s a video.

Final Frugal Judgement:

Even if I only had access to a microwave and only had 75 cents to spend, I’d have a very hard time wanting to buy the Banquet Pot Pie.  I’d be thinking Snickers.  I’ll keep making my Home Made Chicken Pot Pie!  Check it out:  You can make it with Pie Crust, Biscuits or Puff Pastry, as budget and time allows.

Ms. Frau's Chicken Pot Pie like you WISH your Grandma made

Ms. Frau’s Chicken Pot Pie like you WISH your Grandma made

Related articles
