Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I started making these so many years ago that I no longer remember where I got the idea or the recipe. They are strangely addictive and I promise you if you put these out on game day or bring them to a pot luck, you’ll come off as an absolute genius. Seriously. People just can’t stop eating these little gems.

Barbecue Filled Won Ton Cups

Barbecue Filled Won Ton Cups

These can be made with an minimal amount of effort – it’s even possible to buy the little shells frozen. They can also be filled with a store bought barbecue like Lloyd’s or Curley’s.

I like to bake off my own won ton cups (which can be done ahead a day or two) and use my own filling. If I have it on hand, I might use my own sauce, but lately we’ve really liked the Sweet Baby Ray’s Honey Chipotle in these. There’s something about the thick, slightly sweet sauce that goes really well with the cheese.

 

Filled Won Ton Cups with Leftover Turkey, makes 48

  • 48 Won Ton wrappers, 16 ounce package
  • 3 cups chopped meat, pork, poultry or beef
  • 3/4 cup barbecue sauce – your favorite.  We’ve been making this lately with Sweet Baby Ray’s
  • 4 ounces cheese
  • Cooking spray
  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Lightly spray mini muffin cups with cooking spray. Press a wrapper into each, spray with cooking spray, sprinkle edges lightly with salt.  Bake five to eight minutes until golden brown.

Heat the barbecue sauce and your choice of meat together. Place about a tablespoon of mixture into each cup, sprinkle with cheese.

Place muffin trays on a cookie sheet for easy handling and broil about four to six inches from the heat source for about 30 to 45 seconds until cheese is melted. Watch closely as they burn quickly. These could be baked in a hot (400 degrees or so) oven for a minute or two instead.

Try to get these in the cups so they have four opposing corners - take a little "pleate" between the corners if you need to. Sprinkle with salt and bake until the corners are golden.

Try to get these in the cups so they have four opposing corners – take a little “pleate” between the corners if you need to. Sprinkle with salt and bake until the corners are golden.

After the cups are baked, fill with barbecue meat, add a pinch of cheese and bake.

After the cups are baked, fill with barbecue meat, add a pinch of cheese and bake.

Let’s talk about how to save money/time on this recipe:

  • Use a coupon matching site! One of my favorites in my area is Pocket Your Dollars, but every store has a group of enthusiastic Coupon Matchers. Do not discount the savings! I check their site every week, even if I don’t “need” to go to the store and often find bargains I can’t pass up.
  • Follow my Strategies – You’ll see them all explained on the upper left tab of every page and how I apply them, below.
  • Don’t get discouraged if your prices don’t match mine! Keep shopping at the best prices and your fridge/freezer and pantry will be stocked with sales priced ingredients.
  • Read below for additional tips as well as throughout the recipe, for saving time and managing food.

Strategies Applied

  • Scale the recipe down to make just a few. Bake the shells and premix the filling if you’re making for a party, then when you’re ready to use it, fill and heat. If making ahead, you can remove the shells from the tins and place on a large cookie sheet. If Won Ton wrappers are not all used, wrap tightly and freeze. Thaw in the refrigerator overnight.
  • Won Ton wrappers run about $2.99 for a package – and I’ve never seen them on sale. If you have an Asian market near you, you may find better quality and pricing. If you don’t use all your Won Ton wrappers, wrap tightly and freeze. Thaw in the refrigerator overnight.
  • Filling:  Use whatever you wish! Price varies. If you made the recipe as shown, three cups of turkey is about 1/2 a pound – since turkeys on sale run from 69 to 99 cents a pound, I’ll call it 50 cents.
  • BBQ Sauce:  I buy on sale in the summer with coupons, and have gotten it for nothing pretty regularly.  Cost:  0
  • Cheese:  A good price in our area is $1.00 for 8 ounces, but I find it now and then with store specials and coupons for nothing. I last paid $1.00 for eight ounces:  Cost: 50 cents.

Put Your own Spin on It:

  • Leftover turkey is great in this, but pulled pork, leftover pot roast, chicken or even a made ahead barbecue beef or pork from your grocery store will work.  I’ve also used sloppy joes and taco meat and had great results.
  • I imagine you could make them with sausage or bacon or even some type of stuffing, too.
  • Taking these in another direction, I bet they’d be great filled with a crab rangoon cream cheese filling.
  • You could even sprinkle them with sanding sugar after spraying and before baking and fill them with custard or something sweet.

Filled Won Ton Cups made November, 2011

