Tags

, , ,

It’s a dull dreary day today, drizzling rain.  A few of my son’s friends came over and I told them I’d make them brunch.  I had apples from last week, but yesterday I bought more at 89 cents a pound, so I knew I wanted to use the old ones.  I was also inspired by Kristina at My Baker’s Dozen when I saw her recipe for Apple Cider Muffin Tops!  Oooh, if I only had applesauce!  I could serve it over a Dutch Oven Pancake AND make the Muffin Tops later!

Homemade Chunky Applesauce

I don’t even bother with the jarred variety any longer; we had it so often when the kids were small, I just lost respect for it, I guess.  We tried counseling – he refused to talk and it became obvious he thought he was perfect just as he was:  Shiny and appealing on the outside, but bland, bland, bland.

He was so good with the kids, too at first – then I noticed he just stopped engaging them.  I tried to make it work – encouraged the kids as much as I could, but in the end, it was no good.  Last minute, he did try pulling out a few new flavors, some fancy new packaging, but in the end, it was still the same, boring old applesauce.  We never really had closure; he just faded away.

Recipe:  Homemade Applesauce, about 3 1/2 cups.  (I kept tasting it, so I may be off a bit on the amount.)

  • 7 – 9 apples, tart varieties, about 7 or so ounces each, about 3 pounds.
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon, apple pie spice or pumpkin spice – what ever you like.
  • Squirt of lemon juice
  • About 20 grindings of pepper – I know, but it does something amazing to the flavor.

Peel and slice apples.  Melt butter in saucepan, add apples, spices, lemon and pepper.  Stir occasionally over medium low heat until apples soften.  Mash with a potato masher to smooth out the larger chunks.  Time, about 20 minutes.

Apple/Peeler Corer Thingamajig

Money and Time Savings Strategies:

For pricing, remember to use your coupon matching sites for your local stores.  My favorite is Pocket Your Dollars in my area, but every store has a group of enthusiastic couponers who can point you to the best bargains.  Don’t be discouraged if your prices are higher at first – just keep shopping the best sales and follow the strategies and you’ll get there!  Check under Saving on Basic Ingredients for more detailed information and storage hints – use <control f> to search each page to bring you to the item you want to check out.

I’m not huge on specialized equipment in the kitchen, but I love my apple corer slicer.  There are recipes I probably would not make if I didn’t have it.  Mine’s a Pampered Chef, but there are many on the market, and they all seem to have pretty much the same features.  I also use it for other fruits and even potatoes.  It does look a bit like an instrument of torture!

  • Cost:  Apples were $2.70, but you could shop around, pick or buy in quantity and get a much better deal.
  • Butter was 16 cents, Spices and Lemon about 5 cents.
  • Total:  $2.91.  (This is nowhere what you could buy jarred applesauce for, but it’s so much better.)

Dutch Oven Pancake with Homemade Applesauce

Then I made a Dutch Oven Pancake for the kids – when I pulled it out of the oven, the kids were gone.  A Dutch baby waits for no man – or woman, so I ate mine.

(Don’t forget your furred and feathered friends – sprinkle the apple cores outside for a tasty treat.  Well away from your house so you don’t encourage them to come too close.)

